top of page
Search
  • GardenForGood

Tips for donating produce


This week I received some helpful feedback from Loaves & Fishes, a food pantry that serves Ayer, Devens, Groton, Harvard, Littleton and Shirley, MA. In the tips below, I will share some of the highlights with you!


Even if you only have a few veggies to donate, many food pantries are happy to accept them. Think of the good they can do instead of going to waste or the compost pile! Loaves & Fishes stated that their clients love receiving fresh produce. In fact, they had a recent renovation and added a larger walk-in refrigerator to accommodate more fresh foods!


Reach out to a local food pantry or start with a resource like Ample Harvest (they list food pantries that have indicated they accept produce donations). Confirm with the food pantry whether they accept produce donations, what times they can accept donations, and if they have preferred produce.


This is a great time to connect with a food pantry. Many of us are planning out our gardens, and perhaps we can "plant a row" specifically to grow more for donation!


Loaves & Fishes would love to have the following produce donated:

- lettuce

- peas

- green beans

- peppers

- squash of all types, including zucchini

- kale

- chard

- Brussels sprouts

- corn

- any kind of fruit (though they don't need apples due to local orchard donations)


They do NOT prefer tomatoes because of their short shelf life. I was also pleased to hear that tomatoes are in low demand because many of the clients are able to grow their own!


Loaves & Fishes also asks that gardeners refrain from using pesticides for at least 2 weeks prior to harvest and donation. This was a nice indication that they are looking out for the health of their clients. (I do use organic methods with limited treatments of any kind, and I would encourage anyone seeking my opinion to do the same - for their health and the health of the garden and environment.)


With the information above, I am talking a look at my garden plans. I want to make sure I am planting lots of the items desirable for donation! Fortunately, some of them can be prolific producers, and some don't need a lot of space or attention (hello, beans!).


This year, I am adding at least two new raised beds. This will give me a lot more space to grow plenty for donation. My main challenge is, like many of us, TIME! As a working mom, I don't always have as much time in the garden as I'd like. I try to involve my son, and when we work together it's a great experience for both of us. No matter how much I can take on - sometimes I try to do too much! - the intent is there and I know good will come of it.


I am excited to see what I can do this year! Thanks for reading and keeping up with my progress.

bottom of page