top of page
Search
  • GardenForGood

Gardening for Good with Children


Harvesting some spinach with my son in 2017

For those of us who encourage the children in our lives to participate in gardening, we know how magical it can be. Whether it's seeing the look on a child's face when they discover that a seed they planted has germinated, or when they enjoy the fruits of their labor by eating something right from their own backyard, it is priceless!


There are a lot of small things we can do to bring gardening to children. Even if it's the winter or you don't have an outdoor space, try something small inside. Here are some ideas:



Three fun but small indoor gardening ideas


1. Yogurt container plants. Many of us get small yogurt containers for lunches. Using them for plants is a great way to encourage "reuse" from the 3 Rs (reduce, reuse, recycle) that the child(ren) may be learning about from you or in school. Plant something small or plan to transplant once the plant gets bigger. Beans are a great choice because they are easy, grow fast, and are really cool to observe as they develop through different stages. You can even set up a trellis or some twine and let them climb by a window! More planting ideas below...

Green bean and sweet pea planted in yogurt cups

2. Succulents. They are all the rage right now! That means they are easy to find. Use that yogurt cup, a flower pot, or, if you can, allow your child(ren) to pick out a container. Perhaps they can repurpose a chipped mug or a fun find from an antique store or charity resale shop?


* A note on containers: remember to consider drainage needs/options and, if planting edibles, be cautious about the material and ensure it is food safe. I try to avoid plastic, but it is easier said than done when it comes to growing indoors. For example, some terra cotta can be contaminated with heavy metals like lead, but food-grade terra cotta is hard to find and expensive. So, I use a cedar planter, glass, food-safe ceramics, and I often reuse plastic containers that are specifically food-safe and BPA free.


Microgreens sprouting after just a few days

3. Starting seeds. Children love to see their seeds germinate and grow! I often hear people talk about how they are scared to try to grow something. Start with an easy plant, like a grass or catnip. I recommend starting with microgreens for something edible! They are super easy and you get quick results! These days I even see microgreen seeds at the grocery store. So, next time you have a flat plastic food container to recycle (think take-out!), save it. Get a small bag of potting mix, add seeds and water, and wait for those little sprouts to pop up!


Now, this is not the best activity for inside, but set up a potting station for your child(ren). Let them pick out a 6-pack of annuals (especially when they go on sale!) and get their hands in the dirt. One year, I set up a potting station at my son't birthday party. My son got to pick out the plants at a local garden store, and we got some small flower pots on sale at a craft store. The kids were all welcome to plant a flower in a pot and take it home. This was really fun for the guests - and for me, of course!


The "big picture"


As my son gets older, I need to be careful to prevent gardening from becoming a chore for him. He needs to feel purpose and accomplishment. I hope to promote an appreciation and respect for the earth and for food. Additionally, in line with this project, this year I am emphasizing what we can do to help others with our gardening.


I have always appreciated the fact that my parents exposed me to volunteerism from a young age. I remember spending time helping out at a local food pantry with my Mom. This type of experience can make a big impact on children. I hope that I can similarly educate my son about food issues, taking a first step with our "gardening for good" produce donation goals.


There is a lot to be done, in my backyard, and across the state, country, and world. I may not change the world, but I can certainly change my backyard - and I think that's a great place to start!


For now, we are planning out the gardens, growing some microgreens and lettuce, and planting for fun in those yogurt cups. We are looking ahead to spring and all the goodness it brings.


bottom of page