top of page
Search
  • GardenForGood

Gardening for Good: Week 11

Today was a beautiful spring day here in Central Massachusetts. I am so grateful for a busy weekend to cap off a week full of great garden prep, seed starting, and readying myself for new bees.


I was also able to take lots of photos to show the spring progress. They really help provide an idea as to what’s going on here so far this year. Check out the little gallery at the end of this post!


Below I will go over some highlights from seed starting, garden prep, and honeybee prep.


Seed starting.


I have a variety of seeds started using different types of containers. I’m using different containers because I’m curious about how they will each work, and because I have some leftovers from last year’s supplies. I am trying Orta terra cotta planters this year (see the photos). They are self-watering through the wicking action of the terra cotta, so they are supposed to be good at keeping the soil evenly moist. I also like that they are reusable and plastic-free. As I mentioned before, I am also trying the eggshell method for something fun. I’m not sure how well it will work, but if they work well, it’s another great option.


The seeds started this week include lemongrass (not easy to start from seed, but it’s been difficult to find as a plant), Midnight Lightning zucchini, Honey Boat delicata squash, Rampicante squash, Mexican sour gherkin (cucumelon), Marketmore cucumber, Silver Slicer cucumber, Freckles lettuce, Pomegranate Crunch lettuce, Pinwheel marigold, and Romanesco. My son’s selections included snapdragons and watermelon.


Garden prep.


My son built the two new raised beds all by himself! They are new ones I received as birthday gifts and are made by Timberlane Gardens. I really liked the ease of assembly. They are nice 6” cedar boards, which is much stronger and probably longer-lasting than stacking 3-4” boards (such as with the Greene’s raised beds I’ve used in the past). Originally, these new raised beds were going to start a new garden area in a different part of the property. However, my husband had a change of heart and decided he wasn’t fond of that idea any longer… so… I decided to use the new beds to bookend my oldest two beds.


I also decided to turn what was supposed to be an easier project into a bigger one by completely dismantling the old beds (two 4x4s) and building up a new bed system. The old beds were finally starting to rot and come apart. When I set up the news ones next to them, I realized it would be wise to rebuild rather than try to repair it. Because of the larger project, I didn’t get everything done – but if you check out the photos, you’ll see my progress. I filled in the native flower bed (it used to be a makeshift triangle area I added onto the beds) and have the old beds framed with new sides. I put paper and leaves down to act as a bottom layer/weed block, and have to fill them up with new dirt. I hate having to buy dirt in plastic bags, but I didn’t plan this out sufficiently for a bulk order. When we had a yard truck, I’d gotten a truck bed full of compost blend. Now, unfortunately for gardening purposes, our truck has a cap, so it’s less useful for tasks such as that.


Also of note was the progress under the cold frame. The radishes, Tokyo Bekana, and kale are all germinating nicely. There’s also a volunteer cilantro coming in, right in the middle of the saffron crocus. I’ll definitely let it grow in, but won’t let it go to seed like I do in the “jungle” plot where I grow “vigorous” self-seeders. Outside of the cold frame, signs of spring are everywhere! The crocus are in full bloom, the chives are already huge, buds on our fruit trees are nice and big, and some of the daffodils are starting to develop buds. I am very happy to see wild bergamot (monarda), New England aster, and columbine coming in well, as they were all planted last year.


Honeybee prep.


I finished cleaning out the hive this week. The second deep was unfortunately mostly a loss in terms of trying to resuse comb. However, the frames and foundation are all plastic and I would prefer to not use them anyway. So, I’ll keep them in reserve “just in case”. I have a full deep left for the initial brood box. It has some pretty nice comb, and a combination of comb built on wax foundation and plastic foundation. When the time comes for a second brood box, I think I am going to try going foundationless.


We also re-sited the hive. The beekeeper previously had the entrance facing West (I’m not sure why), and now it will be facing South. It is near a forsythia bush that blocks it from view from the road. It will get morning sun and, once the leaves are in on the trees, afternoon shade. I’m still waiting for some new supplies to arrive, but the hive is ready “as is” if they don’t make it in time. One specific item is a better bottom board. I wanted one with a screen and drawer, useful in monitoring for Varroa mites. The one we have now is just a screen and open bottom. The drawer concept is also nice because I can remove it during hot weather for better air flow.


Well, I think I hit on all the highlights from the week except one. It’s a busy time of year but somehow there’s always room for something else – for us, it looks like we’re adopting another rescue dog! We’re currently going through the final adoption stages and the dog is making his way North this week. He was rescued in Tennessee and was taken into a shelter system that doesn’t practice a “no kill” philosophy… I guess this nearly three-year old shepherd mix and some of his peers were out of time, and the adoption agency put out an appeal for immediate adoption. It will definitely change our routine and the transition won’t be easy. But it seems like we’re a good match and it will all be worth it in the end.


Have a great week – more updates next weekend!




bottom of page